123 Street, NYC, US 0123456789 [email protected]

爱上海,上海419论坛,上海龙凤419 - Powered by Makenna Bufu!


first_imgNew Delhi: The Lok Sabha will have its usual glamour quotient this time too with newcomers such as action star Sunny Deol and singer Hans Raj Hans set to join their showbiz colleagues Hema Malini, Kirron Kher and Ravi Kishan, all from the BJP, in the lower house of Parliament. There were big losers too with Raj Babbar, the Congress chief in Uttar Pradesh and its candidate from Fatehpur Sikri, trailing by over 4.9 lakh votes against his BJP rival. Also Read – Pak activated 20 terror camps & 20 launch pads along LoC Urmila Matondkar and Shatrughan Sinha, Congress candidates from Mumbai North and Patna Sahib, respectively, and Moon Moon Sen, contesting from Trinamool Congress, also failed to charm voters. Deol, the newest entrant to the select club of showbiz stars trying to find political relevance who joined the BJP just weeks before the elections, won the Gurdaspur seat from Punjab with a margin of over 82,000 votes, according to Election Commission. Also Read – Two squadrons which participated in Balakot airstrike awarded citations His electoral rival, Congress’ Sunil Jakhar, won the seat in a by-election from Gurdaspur that had earlier favoured another star, Vinod Khanna, for the longest time. The late actor held the seat for BJP for four consecutive terms from 1998 to 2014. Deol’s father, veteran actor Dharmendra, won the Bikaner seat in 2004 but did not seek another term in politics, leaving his wife Hema Malini and son to fight elections. He, however, campaigned for both. Hema Malini looked set to retain her Mathura seat for a consecutive second term, surging ahead of her closest rival Kunwar Narendra Singh of the Rashtriya Lok Dal. The vote tally for Sufi singer-turned-politician Hans Raj Hans, who is contesting from North West Delhi on a BJP ticket, trounced AAP candidate Gugan Singh by over 5.5 lakh votes. In Chandigarh, Kirron Kher, the BJP MP from the constituency, was set for another win, polling more than 2 lakh votes against Congress’ Pawan Kumar Bansal. Sunny Deol’s “Dillagi” co-star Urmila Matondkar, also fighting the elections for the first time on a Congress ticket from Mumbai North, failed to register a win, earning only 2.41 lakh votes against winning BJP candidate Gopal Shetty, whose vote count stood at 7 lakh votes. The Modi factor, however, failed to yield dividends for actor-politician Jaya Prada, who recently switched to BJP after spending years in the SP. Her former colleague and now bitter rival, SP’s Azam Khan, was poised for a win in Uttar Pradesh’s Rampur constituency. The other BJP star candidate who lost was Malayalam actor Suresh Gopi, who fought from Thrissur, Kerala, which voted in Congress candidate T N Prathapan. Jaya Prada was not the only star candidate to cross over to a different party. Actor-politician Shatrughan Sinha and Ravi Kishan switched parties with varying results. Sinha, who joined the Congress after years of being a BJP rebel, failed to retain his seat in Patna Sahib, which went to BJP’s Ravi Shankar Prasad. The Union minister defeated Sinha by over 2.8 lakh votes. Sinha’s wife Poonam, who was fighting the election as a SP candidate from Lucknow, also did not fare well. Incumbent Home Minister Rajnath Singh retained his seat with a vote count of 6.33 lakh votes while Poonam Sinha managed 2.82 lakh votes. Bhojpuri star Ravi Kishan, who switched his loyalties from Congress to BJP this election season, won from Yogi Adityanath’s bastion, Gorakhpur with 7.14 lakh votes. Moon Moon Sen, who raised eyebrows during the poll campaign with her controversial statements, was defeated in the Asansol constituency by incumbent BJP MP and former Bollywood singer Babul Supriyo by a margin of over 1.97 lakh votes, Sen’s magic may not have worked but Nusrat Jahan Ruhi from the party was on her way to victory from Basirhat, with 7.18 lakh votes. Her BJP rival Sayantan Basu managed only 3.77 lakh votes. Another actor from the TMC fold Mimi Chakraborty registered victory from Jadavpur seat with 6.88 lakh votes opposite BJP’s Anupam Hazra (3.93 lakh votes). Actor Locket Chatterjee, fighting on a BJP ticket from Hooghly constituency, defeated TMC’s Ratna De by a margin of over 73,000 votes. National Award winning actor Prakash Raj, a staunch critic of the ruling government’s policies, contested as an independent from Bengaluru Central Lok Sabha constituency but came in third behind the BJP and the Congress. Actor Sumalatha Ambareesh, who fought as an independent from Mandya, won the seat with 7 lakh votes. The seat was earlier held by her late husband, actor Ambareesh.last_img read more


Deal-making, earnings and better than expected U.S. jobs data help boost TSX by Malcolm Morrison, The Canadian Press Posted May 2, 2014 6:49 am MDT AddThis Sharing ButtonsShare to TwitterTwitterShare to FacebookFacebookShare to RedditRedditShare to 電子郵件Email TORONTO – Deal-making, earnings news and U.S. jobs data that blew past expectations combined to push the Toronto stock market higher.The S&P/TSX composite index gained 101.08 points to 14,765.15, while the Canadian dollar moved down 0.16 of a cent to 91.07 cents US.New York’s Dow Jones industrials fell 45.98 points to 16,512.89 even as data showed that the American economy cranked out 288,000 jobs in April, considerably more than the 200,000 or so that economists had expected. Also, the jobless rate fell from 6.7 per cent to 6.3 per cent, although as the labour force participation rate fell to just 62.8 per cent in April from 63.2 per cent and there was a decline of 73,000 in employment.The Nasdaq was down 3.55 points to 4,123.9 and the S&P 500 index dipped 2.54 points to 1,881.14Some analysts attributed the tepid session in New York to nervousness over the worsening situation in Ukraine.Shares in Torstar Corp. jumped 22 per cent as the company struck deal to sell its Harlequin book publishing company, best known for romance novels, to U.S. based News Corp. for $455 million. The TMX Group logo, home of the TSX, is shown in Toronto on June 28, 2013. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Aaron Vincent Elkaim read more