123 Street, NYC, US 0123456789 [email protected]

爱上海,上海419论坛,上海龙凤419 - Powered by Makenna Bufu!


first_img2019 Women’s Basketball All-Conference Third Team Alexes Bryant Texas A&M-Corpus Christi F Jr. Cibolo, Texas Name School Pos. Cl. Hometown Cassidy Barrios2 Nicholls G Sr. Raceland, La. Jaylonn Walker Sam Houston State G Jr. Calvert, Texas Cassidy Barrios3 Nicholls G Sr. Raceland, La. Shania Woods New Orleans C Sr. Houston, Texas Chanell Hayes Stephen F. Austin G Sr. Texarkana, Texas Chastadie Barrs3 Lamar G Sr. DeSoto, Texas Dalesia Booth Texas A&M-Corpus Christi G Jr. San Antonio, Texas 2019 Women’s Basketball All-Conference First Team Alexes Bryant Texas A&M-Corpus Christi F Jr. Cibolo, Texas FRISCO, Texas – Lamar senior guard Chastadie Barrs is the 2018-19 Southland Conference Women’s Basketball Player of the Year, the league announced Wednesday along with the all-conference rosters. Southland yearly awards are presented by Ready Nutrition.Leading the way on the postseason roster is Lamar and Abilene Christian who each earned three selections. Up next is Stephen F. Austin, Sam Houston State and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi with two picks apiece. Nicholls, Central Arkansas and New Orleans each landed one honoree on the postseason squads. Of the five first-team award winners, Nicholls’ Cassidy Barrios, Lamar’s Barrs and Moe Kinard are each making their third career appearance. Central Arkansas’ Kamry Orr and Abilene Christian’s Breanna Wight were named to the second team, becoming two-time honorees.Barrs continuously turns heads, capturing seven Southland Player of the Week awards throughout the regular season. The Lamar senior is averaging 14.8 points, 7.6 rebounds and leads the conference with 7.2 assists per game. She has stacked 11 double-doubles throughout the season and stands second in the country with five triple-doubles to her name. Barrs is one of 10 finalists for the Nancy Lieberman Award, which is meant to highlight the best point guard in the nation. Additionally, she is also a finalist for the James Naismith National Defensive Player of the Year award, making the list as the only contender from a mid-major program.In addition to her Player of the Year accolade, Barrs earns her fourth consecutive Southland Defensive Player of the Year award. She currently leads the nation with 6.9 steals per game for the Lamar program. With two regular-season games remaining, Barrs became the NCAA Division I all-time leader for career steals after ripping her 625th steal against Houston Baptist. She has since added 14 more, bringing her career total to 639 heading into postseason play. The DeSoto, Texas product has been a pillar for the Cardinals’ defense that has limited opponents to 61.4 points per game while Division I programs with an 11.14 turnover margin.Lamar snags a third and final individual superlative winner in Miya Crump who is the Freshman of the Year. Crump finished her regular-season campaign averaging 15.7 points per game. She shot 38-percent from beyond the arc and pulled 2.3 steals per game.Sam Houston State’s Jaylonn Walker is the league’s Newcomer of the Year after boosting the Bearkats to a No. 5 seed in the conference tournament. Since transferring from McLennan CC, Walker has made 25 starting appearances while averaging 15.3 points per contest. The junior leads the Sam Houston State squad in scoring, rebounding (8.3) and steals (2.4).Rounding out the individual award winner is Sam Houston State’s first-year head coach Ravon Justice who was named the Southland Coach of the Year. Justice took over a Bearkat program that went 1-17 in conference play during the 2017-18 season. In her short time at the helm for SHSU, Justice has steered the Bearkats to an 11-7 Southland record and a 16-12 overall mark.All-conference teams and individual awards are nominated and voted upon by the conference’s head coaches and sports information directors. Voting for oneself or one’s own players/coaches is not permitted. To receive honorable mention, a player must appear on at least 25 percent of ballots.The opening round of play at the 2019 Southland Conference Basketball Tournament tips off Thursday, March 14 at 11 a.m. CT inside Leonard E. Merrell Center in Katy, Texas. Imani Johnson Stephen F. Austin F RSr. Lee’s Summit, Mo. Sara Williamson Abilene Christian G Sr. Rowlett, Texas Miya Crump Lamar F Fr. Houston, Texas 4 Four-time All-Defensive selection2 Two-time All-Defensive selection Name School Pos. Cl. Hometown Dominique Golightly Abilene Christian G/F Jr. Chickasha, Okla. Breanna Wright2 Abilene Christian G Jr. Jarrell, Texas Lydia Baxter Sam Houston State F Sr. Austin, Texas Player of the Year: Chastadie Barrs, LamarDefensive Player of the Year: Chastadie Barrs, LamarFreshman of the Year: Miya Crump, LamarNewcomer of the Year: Jaylonn Walker, Sam Houston StateCoach of the Year: Ravon Justice, Sam Houston State Moe Kinard3 Lamar G Sr. New Iberia, La. 2 Two-time All-Conference selection3 Three-time All-Conference selection Chastadie Barrs4 Lamar G Sr. DeSoto, Texas Kamry Orr2 Central Arkansas G Sr. Little Rock, Ark. Name School Pos. Cl. Hometown 2019 Women’s Basketball All-Conference Second Team Kamry Orr Central Arkansas G Sr. Little Rock, Ark. 2019 Women’s Basketball All-Defensive Team Name School Pos. Cl. Hometown Stephanie Visscher Stephen F. Austin G Fr. Lulea, Sweden Honorable Mention: Emma Young, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi; Jenniffer Oramas, Sam Houston State; Amanda Johnson, Houston Baptist; RaVon Nero, Northwestern State; Celica Sterling, Southeastern Louisiana; Callie Maddox, McNeeselast_img read more